American Notary Basics© is in the works !

When I started planning to write a book for Tennessee Notaries, I had this totally unrealistic belief that I could spend a couple of weekends and pound out a tome that conveyed everything I thought was needed. After I got into it and started doing some research to see if I knew as much as I thought I did and what others had done along similar lines, I quickly decided that the book would have to be split into 2 — one full of information specifically for State of Tennessee Notaries Public and one full of information about making money as a notary and the business aspects of doing so.

I filled two notebooks with notes and resources and several boxes with books (many of which I had already but had never read) to prepare myself for the actual writing. The more I researched, the bigger this project became until it got so big that I was stalled at the many bits and pieces and how to bring them all together into something that I would be willing to release upon my fellow notaries.

Then I was contacted by the American Association of Notaries and offered a long-term assignment as a freelance writer. Hooray! I thought. Now I can work out what I want to say in my book by writing these articles — and get paid for the articles while I retain the rights to put them into a book. You can see on the Notary Tips page how that is working out. So far, I have submitted 15 articles and 11 of them have been published. I expect the current series will run to 20 or so articles, then I will move into other topics.

Meanwhile, I kept thinking that there was an imbalance in the plan. The first book was going to be Tennessee-specific while the second book was going to be aimed at the wider market of notaries looking to make money regardless of what state they practiced in, so would the second group need something like the first book, too? Did I just add a 3rd book to the plan? Yes, I guess I did. I could take the articles published as Notary Tips and make them into a book and make the information in them available in a different format.

Then I kept running into mentions of Scrivener on Facebook. This program allows a writer to organize and re-organize a writing project several different ways and then, when they have finished writing it, to compile it into an ebook that is ready to submit to the online stores. As my muse has always spoken to me in more-or-less random order about various topics, this looks perfect for me, as it means I can write articles as subjects come to me, then put them into an order that flows more naturally as a book.

And that is what I am doing.

Even while I am still writing the articles for the series for my client, I am pulling together my first book, which will be entitled American Notary Basics©. It will contain the Who, What, When, Where, Why and How of being a notary public in the USA, as well as resources for learning more.

I still plan to write Tim’s Tennessee Notary Book, as well as The Notary Money Book. I see this book as a sort of trial run to those longer works, as well as a companion to The Notary Money Book and a way to learn more about using Scrivener before I tackle those other books.

Look for an announcement here when American Notary Basics© becomes available for pre-order.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Books, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

