It is Illegal to Copy Military IDs

One of the reasons I am active on Facebook is the various notary groups there. While the topics posted do get repeated and many people don’t bother to google a question or look on youtube for a video or even to use the group’s search function to see if they can find the answer before posting their question, I do still find information there that I wouldn’t find otherwise.

As an example of that, one person recently posted an observation about how many loan officers, title companies, and signing services don’t seem to know that it’s illegal to copy a US military I.D. Well, I didn’t know that either!

Military ID Card sample explained

In the comments that followed, another person posted the following link. If you read the article there, you will see the US Code citation — that’s the federal law involved. You can look that up using google or other services, if you want to read it.

It’s Illegal To Copy Military Identification Cards

As Tennessee specifies what forms of I.D. are acceptable for notary purposes and as a US military I.D. is on that list, it’s good to know that I can’t copy that, if it is the form of I.D. that is presented to me. This means that I can accept a military I.D. but the signer will need to also show another form which CAN legally be copied if I am doing the notary work for a client who requires a copy of their I.D.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Government - Law and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

